Phishers/scammers preying on our social capital (II)

I wrote earlier how phishers/scammers have discovered that since we rely on and trust our friends, they can be more effective by employing social capital to get us to fall for their virus and phishing pranks.

Here’s the latest example I received (I’ve added italics):

Hello friend ! You have just received a screensaver from someone who really cares about you!  [note appeal to social capital]

This is a part of the message:”Hi there! It has been a very long time since I haven’t heared anything from you! [factually true but implied that she is a friend of yours]

I hope you enjoy this gift from me that i’ve sent with love … I’ve just found out about this service from Sharon, a friend of mine who also told me that…”  [again note that it piques your interest by mentioning Sharon’s friends with the implication that since Sharon sent you a gift and is telling you about her friend, you should be interested in her friend…]

If you’d like to see the rest of the message click here [nefarious link to URL…webmail.hometowntelephone.net/gifts/dolphins.exe] to receive your 3d live Dolphins

Leave a Reply

